The annual SAMA will stage its 26th edition over five nights, from 3 to 7 August 2020 at 21:30. In accordance with the nationwide Covid-19 lockdown and social distancing norms, the party has moved from the Sun City Superbowl to be streamed on the My Muze by Vodacom platform and broadcast on Mzansi Magic, DStv channel 161.

The Full List of Nominees:

Best Maskandi Album:
Bawucisha ngo Paraffin by Abafana baka Mgqumeni
Hlanga Lomhlabathi by Izingane Zoma
Inhloko Nes’Xhanti by Khuzani
Inyoka Yodumo by Sgwebo Sentambo
Upopayi by Thokozani Langa

Best Traditional Music Album:
Botshelo by Makopanela Pineng
Richang by Tswelelang Cultural Dancers
Sialala by Vha Venda Cultural Group
Tshimo Ea Tlholwa by Mma Ausi
Ungabanaki by Qadasi & Maqhinga

Best Collaboration:
Akulaleki by Samthing Soweto featuring Sha Sha, DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small
Fetch Your Life by Prince Kaybee featuring Msaki
Love You Tonight by MFR Souls featuring DJ Maphorisa, Sha Sha and Kabza De Small
Say U Will by K.O featuring Nandi Madida
Tender Love by Sha Sha featuring DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small

Best Traditional Faith Music Album:
Re-Birth by TYGC Family
Psalm 103 by Jeffrey Mkansi
Praise & Repentance 2nd Offering by Muzie B
OkaJehova Akanqotshwa by Deborah Fraser
Calvary by Dumi Mkokstad

Newcomer of the Year:
Sbu Noah for A David Kind of Psalm (Live)
Ami Faku for Imali
Spha Mdlalose for Indlel’eyekhaya
Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble for Queen Nandi : The African Symphony
Viwe Mkizwana for Tributes

Best African Indigenous Faith Album:
Uyalalelwa by The General Universal Zion Church of God (Isitimela)
Thobela Morena by Matsobane Maifo
Themba Lami by Amagoduka
Modula Sione Ore Utlwe, Mookamedi by Wacha Mkhukhu Wachumlilo
Lona Ba Ratang Ho Phela by Amadodana Ase Wesile

Best Jazz Album:
Genesis of a Different World by Steve Dyer
Indlel’eyekhaya by Spha Mdlalose
Queen Nandi: The African Symphony by Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble
Tributes by Viwe Mkizwana
Amanzi Nemifula: Umkhuleko by Sibusiso Mash Mashiloane

Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album:
Coenie 2.2 by Coenie de Villiers
Boomhuis by Elandré
Jou Huis by Elvis Blue
Pure Plaas by Ricus Nel
Sterker by Riana Nel

Best of Africa Award:
Blossom by Sha Sha (Zimbabwe)
I Love Girls With Trobul by Sarz and WurlD (Nigeria)
Metamorfose by Isabel Novella (Mozambique)
YPSZN2 by PsychoYP (Nigeria)
A Good Time by Davido (Nigeria)

Best Afro Pop Album:
From Bongo With Love by Bongo Maffin
Imali by Ami Faku
Isiphithiphithi by Samthing Soweto
Selimathunzi by Mthunzi
Umuthi by Blaq Diamond

Best Alternative Music Album:
Zeno by Muzi
The Calling by James Deacon
Ndim Nani by Zu.
June by Manu Grace
Cult Pop by Lo-Ghost

Best Reggae Album:
From the Low Land by Skeleton Blazer
Impilo Kantanga by Jeremiah Fyah Ises
The Revealer by Botanist
True Stories by Bongo Riot Di Dancehall Wakanda
Vision 2020 by Fruitystar

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album:
A David Kind of Psalm (Live) by Sbu Noah
Friends in Praise, Vol.2 by Neyi Zimu and Omega Khunou
Glory in His Presence by Benjamin Dube
Project 17 Live at Carnival City by Worship House
Seasons, Volume II by We Will Worship

Best R&B/Soul Album:
Elements by Elaine
God Decides by Tellaman
My Heart to Your Soul by Lungisa Xhamela
Pink Panther by Tshego
Promised Land by Yanga Sobetwa

Male Artist of the Year:
Benjamin Dube for Glory in His Presence
Samthing Soweto for Isiphithiphithi
Prince Kaybee for Re Mmino
Sibusiso Mash Mashiloane for Amanzi Nemifula: Umkhuleko
Bongo Riot Di Dancehall Wakanda for True Stories

Best African Adult Contemporary Album:
Toro ka Mmino by T.S
S.G 2.0 by Tlale Makhene and Ziyawa Ka Zitha
Power of Dreams by Judith Sephuma
I Write What I Dream by Ntsika
Folklore: Chapter 1 by Pilani Bubu

Best Adult Contemporary Album:
Swansong by Lance James
Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue by the Parlotones
Power by Amanda Black
In a Different Light by Wouter Kellerman
Africa by Ndlovu Youth Choir

Best Kwaito Album:
Baby Boy III by Vigro Deep
Ikhenani by DJ Tira
Scorpion Kings by DJ Maphorisa and Kabza De Small
The Beginning by MFR Souls
The Return of the Scorpion Kings by Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa

Beste Pop Album:
Elektrisiteit by Dewald Wasserfall
Hou Vas by HANCO
#Partytjiedier by Kurt Darren
Patriot by Appel
Swaeltjies by Danny Smoke

Best Pop Album:
DEEP BREATH by Deep Breath
Ghost by Matthew Mole
Here I Am by Christian Heath
Lifeline by Josh Wantie
Solitude by Mike Stent

Best Hip Hop Album:
3T by YoungstaCPT
Becoming a Pop Star by Yanga Chief
Injayam Vol.2 by DJ Sliqe
Ungqongqoshe Wongqongqoshe by Big Zulu

Best Produced Album:
Swansong by Matthew Fink
Scorpion Kings by MFR Souls, DJ Maphorisa, Vigro Deep and Kabza De Small
Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee
Isiphithiphithi by DJ Maphorisa, Kabza De Small, MFR Souls, Howard, Mas Musiq and Samthing Soweto
In a Different Light by Wouter Kellerman

Female Artist of the Year:
Ami Faku for Imali
Riana Nel for Sterker
Lady Zamar for Monarch
Manu Grace for June
Spha Mdlalose for Indlel’eyekhaya

Best Live Audio Visual Recording:
A David Kind of Psalm (Live) by Sbu Noah
Calvary by Dumi Mkokstad
Glory in His Presence by Benjamin Dube
Krone 6 Live by Krone Various Artists
Your Word Alibuyi Lilambatha by Kholeka

Best Engineered Album:
I Write What I Dream by Robin Walsh
Isiphithiphithi by Samthing Soweto, Pete Maher and Mas Musiq
Promised Land by Kurt Michael
The Return of the Scorpion Kings by Mas Musiq
Into Dust/Waltz for Jozi by Peter Auret

Best Classical Album:
Vignettes for Violin by Kristel Birkholtz
Die Tale Van My Hart by Wilhelm Lichtenburg
Freehand by Charl du Plessis
Andaluza – Music of Spain III by James Grace
Africa Celebrates by University of Limpopo Choristers and the KwaZulu-Natal Philharmonic Orchestra

Best Produced Music Video:
Akulaleki by Yolanda Hlakula and Paul Ramaema
Whipped by Kyle White
SMA by Kyle White
Pearls to Swine featuring Tresor & Kid X by Msaki
Fetch Your Life by Ofentse Mwase

Best Rock Album:
Until The Last Prayer by Gunshot Blue
The Bright Blue Orchids by The Plastics
Sins of the Father by Black Pistol
Plastic Kids by The Tazers
Dagdrome in Suburbia by Francois van Coke

Duo or Group of the Year:
Malumz on Decks for Find Your Way
Worship House for Project 17 (Live at Carnival City)
Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble for Queen Nandi: The African Symphony
We Will Worship for Seasons ,Volume II
Qadasi & Maqhinga for Ungabanaki

Album of the Year:
Isiphithiphithi by Samthing Soweto
Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee
Seasons, Volume II by We Will Worship
True Stories by Bongo Riot Di Dancehall Wakanda
Amanzi Nemifula: Umkhuleko by Sibusiso Mash Mashiloane

Remix of the Year:
Shay’inumber (Deep Sen) by Oscar Nyathi
Utatakho Remix by Yanga Chief featuring Boity, Dee Koala and Riky Rick
Sad To Think (Fka Mash Glitch Dub) by SculpturedMusic
Culture Vulture (Remix) by 25K
When Jazz Meets House (The Squad Remix) by DJ General Slam featuring Bruno Soares Sax

Best Dance Album:
Akhiwe by Oskido
Find Your Way by Malumz on Decks
Monarch by Lady Zamar
Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee
Vibez by DJ Mshega